And…it Gets Worse

I’ve been in crisis-mode since leaving the dentist yesterday.  We all hate going to the dentist, and I did this time especially because I knew that there had to be some damage to my teeth.

Boy, was I right.

All of my molars have stress fractures from clenching my jaw.  I will lose my molars if I don’t stop clenching my teeth.

I’m clenching my jaw because I’m so damn anxious all the time.  So now, I am not only damaging my mental well-being, but I am also physically damaging myself.    I really like to eat all kinds of foods, so this is a grim prospect.  I now have to be consciously aware to keep my teeth from touching.  I clench my jaw all the time.  I clench it harder when I’m especially anxious.  This means that I need to get on some anxiety meds to help me chill out.

I keep putting off calling my doctor.  I don’t want to have to go into an appointment with her and explain why I need to be medicated.  How do I explain to someone whose been treating me for years, that I’ve been hiding the fact that I’m a basket case from her?  I know she would hear me out, but I’m afraid that she won’t believe me, and I’ll walk out of there with no help.  Same place I am now, just without hope.  One can’t survive without the hope that things will get better.  I’m also leery about mood-altering medications since taking Effexor.  The withdrawals from going off that almost killed me.

So, I am stuck in this limbo of needing help really bad, yet I’m terrified to ask for it.

That makes me more anxious.  Le sigh…

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kate1975
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 13:43:17

    Hi,

    I understand feeling that way. But doctors are kind of used to not knowing everything their client is going through. Many of them are very good at helping find the right med, once they know there is a problem.

    My doctor has been very kind and understanding in dealing with this. There were several other doctors that I saw before him, but I didn’t want to stay with them and am glad that I found this doctor. I found some help by taking an anxiety med, but found the side effects too much for me because I tend to get a lot of side effects from meds.

    It might help you to read more at webmd about anxiety meds. I also find it helpful to write a note so I remember what I want to say when I get in to see my doctor. There is a time pressure on me for an appointment, so I tend to forget all that I want to cover and a note helps so much.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

    Reply

    • insaneheart09
      Mar 19, 2011 @ 10:32:21

      Thank you Kate. I will do some research before I call, which my doctor appreciates. She always asks me if there is a med that I want to try for whatever ailment I’m going through. She doesn’t feed the pharmaceutical companies, but rather wants me to tell her what I’m thinking and then we go from there.

      Reply

  2. Lisa
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 16:36:16

    Hi I know exactly were you come from. I have changed my doctor and it seems she is not as aware of mental health issues as my old one. She also has a lot more to do I think.
    But in my experience I am making progress when I feel worse as it is a kind of backlash-feeling. When it feels there is no way out – I am urged to find a new way of dealing with it and afterwards I have achieved something.
    my thoughts and prayers are with you Lisa

    Reply

    • insaneheart09
      Mar 19, 2011 @ 10:30:38

      Thank you so much Lisa. I really need to give my doctor more credit. She is a wonderful lady, and has helped me with my insomnia. She listens before she says anything, and I’ve found that is a virtue for a doctor. I just have to make the call and hope for the best.

      Reply

  3. Linda
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 13:05:46

    Ask your doctor for help. Personally, I don’t care much for doctors nor medication, but sometimes it is simply necessary to stop the pain. I say this because I went to the dentist last week and he says I have to have a molar pulled due to too much bone loss. Not being one to give up without a fight, I am taking Penicillin and have an appointment with a periodontist.
    So, my advice is talk to your doctor. Most doctors are sympathetic regarding anxiety and they want to help. Bite the bullet (sorry) and see your doctor.
    Also, I really enjoy your blog!
    Linda

    Reply

  4. marj aka thriver
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 12:18:48

    I know how this is. It sucks. And I have such extreme dental fear. With the cracks I have in my teeth from clenching, I got a mouth guard I wear at night. It doesn’t do anything about the clenching during the day, but it does help while I sleep, at least.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

