Just Call Me Twitch

I am so on edge today.  Worse than I have been in a long time.  Every sound, every movement, every perceived expression on other people’s faces.  Everything is making me jump out of my skin.  I feel like I’m losing my mind.

I called and left a message for my doctor about my anxiety, and her nurse called me this morning.  That was a hard conversation.  She seemed to think that I was just going through an anxious spell.  I told her that I’ve had this since I was a child, and it’s just now gotten to the point that I can’t handle it anymore.  That was probably poor wording because the next question she asked me was…

“Do you feel like you are danger to yourself or others?”  That caught me a bit off-guard, and I said, “Oh God, no!”.  I don’t want anyone to ever think that about me.  I am not suicidal.  In fact, I love life in general, and I have a husband and child.  I would never take my own life, and I would NEVER hurt anyone else.

So the conversation continued with a battery of other questions.  Heart palpitations?  Check.  Panic Attacks?  Check.  Does Dr. know that you have anxiety?  Um, not yet.  I’ve been good at hiding it all these years.  And on and on until the nurse was satisfied that she had enough information to pass on to my doctor.  I was close to tears the entire time.

My doctor is rounding today, but will be in this afternoon.  I hope I get a call by the end of the day to let me know where to go from here.  If she doesn’t prescribe me meds, maybe she can refer me to a therapist or something.

I have to thank the reader’s who gave me so much encouragement.  It was a HUGE feat for me to be able to make that call.  I made the leap, and asked for help.  That is something that is incredibly hard for me.  I’ve always been self-sufficient, and pride myself on being so independent…to my detriment at times.

So here goes.  Cross your fingers that I’ll get the help I need.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kate1975
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 23:15:09

    Thinking of you. Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 12:59:32

    Hi, just want to send you some positive and healing thoughts and energy. I am in nearly the same situation and know exactly how it feels like. I’ll make myself a special cup of tea to celebrate your achievement and I light a candle for you as well. Because that is exactly what we should do. Celebrate any achievement even if it is a small one. yours lisa

    Reply

  3. marj aka thriver
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 12:20:51

    Sometimes it’s hard to know what is “general” anxiety and what is a heightened startle response from trauma. I hope you get relief soon.

    Hey, I’m making the rounds to say goodbye to the blogosphere after five years. Thanks for your support of my blog and the blog carnival and thanks for all your courage and honesty in sharing. Best wishes and healing for your journey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

