Christmas Thoughts

I am in such a good mood today.  I am so getting into the Christmas spirit.  I finished up my Christmas cards last night and will mail them out today.  The snow finally calmed down and now it’s very picturesque.  It looks like a Winter Wonderland.  Tonight, we have a family fun night at my daughter’s school and we will make Christmas crafts and such.  I’m really looking forward to it.  I just love this time of year.  I think this weekend we will bake cookies and listen to Christmas music…maybe simmer some cinnamon on the stove. 

As I get older and now have a daughter of my own, I’ve noticed that the despair I normally feel at Christmas time has lessened and lessened as the years go by.  I have my daughter to fill my head now, making traditions with her, instead of focusing on my mom’s death and everything that happened in the aftermath:  My father abandoning me, losing touch with my sister, being forced into a new family where I didn’t know anyone.  The list goes on, but they are topics for other blog posts.

Now, I am thriving.  Relishing the Christmas season and all it’s wonders.  It is just fantastic to have such a change of mindset.  Things really can get better.

Leave a Reply

