Kicking the Habit

I am starting today.  I will be a non-smoker.  I have been doing really good, only smoking a couple a day, but that’s not good enough.  I need to not smoke at all.  I think I have been going about it all wrong though.  It’s almost like I’m hesitating because I will be giving up a special friend or something.  Cigarettes have been with me through so much, and now I feel almost forced to give up this rock in my life.  Well, that’s just stupid.

New mindset starts right now.  I am not “giving up” anything.  I’m getting rid of a disgusting habit.  I am taking charge of my health.  I am gaining so much.  My sense of smell and taste will come back, I won’t get winded when I climb the stairs, I won’t stink, my risk for smoking related health problems will decrease.  I will be happier and have more money.

It won’t be easy, this I know, but damnit, I am going to do it this time.  I have a weekend packed with plans to keep my mind and hands occupied.  Cookie baking, ornament making, cleaning and shopping.  I’ve also planned time for naps because it’s going to make me exhausted.

So here I go…on my way to becoming a non-smoker.  I can do this.

Leave a Reply

