Loving Football

I’m feeling really good today.  The Chargers won an important game last night in the last few seconds, clinching the AFC West.  It was awesome.  They are such an amazing team, and I’m hoping that this is their year.  It’s been a tough road so far, but they have managed to go 11-3 with (hopefully) more wins to come.  I’m going to be a wreck until this season is over.

My love for football is so strange to me.  I remember being a teenager and being thoroughly annoyed that Sunday was always football day, and I had to suffer through watching the Packers.  I hated it, and hated football in general.  It was up until about 5 years ago that I gave it a chance again. 

My husband was born and raised in San Diego and has been following the Chargers since he was little.  I always simply humored him when he would talk about them, I wasn’t interested.  He said, “Just sit down and watch an entire game, the Chargers are fun to watch.”  I finally gave in, but didn’t think that it would matter.  I just wasn’t into football in the least.

So we watched a game.  I can’t remember who they played, but it was a fantastic game.  My husband started explaining football to me.  I really didn’t understand the game up to that point.  He explained what the different penalties were, what downs meant, etc. and I was really paying attention.  Needless to say, I got hooked.  Now, 5 years later, I am more knowledgeable about football than he is sometimes.

It is so fun to watch, and I live for football now.  I think it has something to do with watching men be men.  I love to see the games get brutal.  I also think it has something to do with the Chargers as well.  I am a girl, and I must say that their uniforms are the snazziest in the league.  They are always a fun team to watch as well.

I find myself now, watching any game as long as it’s a good matchup.  It doesn’t matter what team is playing as long as it is an interesting game.  I do not like watching a team roll over another team.  That’s not entertaining to me.  There’s got to be some back and forth to get my heart racing, wondering who is going to pull it out.

Suffice to say, once football season is over, I will be pining for next year.  Go Chargers!

Leave a Reply

