A Day for Me

I think I have reached burnout.  I have zero energy, zero motivation and just genuinely feel *bleh*.  It’s been too long since I have not had anything to do.  I go to work for 8 hours, and then I usually have some chores to do or errands to run before I can relax for the night.  I don’t remember the last time I actually got to go right home after work and just relax.

I have a hard time just leaving something.  If there is a chore to be done, I have to do it.  If I try to let it go, it will eat at me until I do it.  I think it’s a product of growing up in my grandmother’s house.  She insisted the house be spotless at all times.  Everything had to be in it’s place and she did not tolerate messes.  Even my bedroom had to be picked up at all times.  I’m not as bad as she was, but I still need to live in a tidy house.  Ours has become so cluttered.

My daughter’s bedroom is a trashed mess.  I was going to get to it this weekend, but I didn’t have the motivation.  She is going to start on it when she gets home from school and I will help her after work.  It has to be clean before Christmas Eve.

I’m thinking I need to decompress.  I need one day where I don’t have anything to do.  No errands, no chores, nothing but relaxing and doing what I want to do.  The day after Christmas will be that day if I have any say about it.  My husband’s family and my family should be all done with their Christmas festivities and Lydia will be occupied with her new toys.

Wow, the prospect of not having to set my alarm is exciting!

Leave a Reply

