Christmas

Well, I’ve come to the conclusion that my family sucks.  That’s pretty strong I guess, not all of them suck.  There’s so much drama going on right now that Christmas Eve at Grandma’s house was pretty lame.  Quite a few family members refused to go because they are at odds with each other.  I don’t know why people can’t just suck it up and get along for Christmas.  It’s almost like they feed off the drama and live in it.  This crap has been going on for more than a year.  Meanwhile, my grandma probably won’t be around for next Christmas, so their petty differences will mean that she won’t see them all on Christmas ever again.

So, Christmas Eve at Grandma’s was a bust, but we went over to my brother-in-law’s house after that and it was much better.  We had some champagne and good company.  My daughter had a good time playing with his kids.  We ended up getting home later than anticipated, but we were having such a good time.  My daughter got to bed after putting cookies and milk out for Santa and then the hubby and I watched “The Hangover”.  It was really funny.

Christmas morning was wonderful.  My daughter was so excited about everything.  I think this is the last year of believing in Santa though.  She’s trying so hard to explain away things that her little logical mind comes up with.  She told me, “I know why my presents are in the same wrapping paper that we have.  Santa wraps them all here!”  Um, yep!  She got a letter from Santa in the mail on Christmas Eve (which i knew nothing about), and she’s looking at the handwriting, trying to see if it looked like mine or her dad’s.  So yeah, most likely next year she won’t believe anymore.  She is so smart, and Santa really is a fantastic idea.  She knows at this point that Santa and all the things he does, is not logical.

All in all, it was a good Christmas.  The day rounded out by a huge Chargers win, and that was awesome.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kate1975
    Dec 27, 2009 @ 21:32:41

    Hi,

    I’m sorry that they couldn’t manage to pull it together for her. I can relate. I don’t spend my holidays at my sister’s house and haven’t for more than five years. It has been wonderful. It took me a long time to do it. But it has meant so much peace and healing for me. Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

    Reply

  2. some people just hide in plain sight
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 16:08:55

    That does suck that people can’t just get it together. My brother is like that. It’s so hurtful. I’m glad you had a good Christmas anyway. Sounds like your daughter is a smartie!

    I thought The Hangover was really funny too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

