Bosch

I have a favorite modern-day artist.  Her name is Jasmine Beckett-Griffith.  Her paintings are centered around these beautiful big-eyed girls.  I was browsing through her gallery and stumbled upon this:

“Alice in a Bosch Landscape”

It’s obviously inspired by Hieronymus Bosch.  He was a mysterious artist from the 15th to 16th centuries.  I have always loved his work because I imagine him to be insane or close to it.  His mind was definitely something not to be completely understood.

The following is part of a folding triptych that he painted.  A triptych is actually three paintings in one.  It has the main one in the center with one painting on either side of it.  They were generally displayed in churches and cathedrals.  They could be closed up to hide the paintings.

“The Garden of Earthly Delights”

I was thoroughly impressed with Jasmine’s take on his work and being able to incorporate it into one of her beautiful paintings.  It is an incredible homage to the famous dead artist. 

I feel a bit morbid that I love Bosch so much as an artist, but I feel connected to him.  Like he was battling his own demons and this was his only outlet in a time period that didn’t understand him and really had no help for him.  I feel a lot like that sometimes.  I know there’s plenty of help out there for me, but sometimes it seems so pointless.

Today a lot of people appreciate his work for the shear uniqueness of it, the morbidity.  I tend to look at the man, and wonder why these images were prevalent in his mind.

Leave a Reply

