The Straw That Broke the Camel’s Back

Well, it’s been a crazy few days.  My husband and I had our worst night ever this past Saturday.  We went to a work party and drank more than we should have.  We only ever fight when we are drunk.  I don’t want to get into details, but it was bad.  It made us decide fully that we are forever done drinking.  Neither of us has had a drop since.

We finally admitted to ourselves that we are both alcoholics.  When you are drinking every night for a long time, even if it’s not enough to get drunk, you are still an alcoholic.  I think we were kidding ourselves that we didn’t have a problem.  I knew I wanted to stop drinking for awhile, but I also knew that it would never happen until we were both on board.

Now we are and it has been 4 days without a drop.  I have to admit that I feel pretty good.  I haven’t been craving it, and I wake up feeling a bit more energized.  The only problem I have with it is the inability to go to sleep without it.  I used beer as a sedative, to shut my mind off at night.  I took a mild sleep-aid last night and it seemed to help.  I went to sleep fairly quickly and woke up feeling good.

This is a great weight off my shoulders.  My father was a horrible alcoholic, and I never wanted to end up like him.  Now I can put that to bed.  I am looking into AA meetings, even though I don’t think I need them.  It can’t hurt to get support from people who are going through the same thing you are.

One bad habit down…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. some people just hide in plain sight
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 19:32:52

    Wow. Good job. I struggle with wondering if I have a drinking problem sometimes. But then I think maybe that I just have a really judgmental non-drinking boyfriend who tries to make me feel shitty. I don’t drink that much. Or that often. But still, sometimes I wonder. When I do drink, I drink alone… But that’s also because Boyfriend doesn’t drink and I don’t have any friends here! But…. Still… Am I so full of excuses or what?

    Not drinking will definitely help on the biggest loser front too. You’re really making healthy changes for yourself.

    Reply

  2. insaneheart09
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 22:18:37

    I don’t think you have a problem at all. I read the post about the margaritas (I think), and from my perception, you are very responsible. Alcohol is like anything, it’s perfectly enjoyable in moderation. Unfortunately for me, it took a huge fight to make me realize that I was not being responsible with it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

