Moving Blues

Wow, it was a long weekend, but too short as well.  We did a ton of packing.  My daughter spend the night with friends both Friday and Saturday night, which made it easier for us to get a lot done.  She came home yesterday and, bless her heart, tried to start packing her bedroom.  She ended up making a bigger mess than it was before.  She was trying really hard and getting frustrated, so I let her relax for the rest of the day.

I’m starting to feel a bit overwhelmed and I have to force myself to get a handle on it.  When things get too stressful, I find myself pulling inward and becoming numb to everything around me.  I zone out to the world until I decompress.  Right now would be the absolute worst time to do that.  I only have two weeks to get the house in order for moving.

We still have so much packing to do.  My husband is helping a lot, but we have so much junk.  There’s so much stuff to go through and throw away.  I have to do at least a little bit each night after work, along with all my normal duties.  There’s only one weekend left between now and moving day.  I can feel the depression and stress working on me.

Moving is a hard task for anyone who is mentally stable, but for someone like me who thrives on routine, it’s torture.  My world is being flipped upside down and I have to somehow pretend that everything is ok.  I know, logically, that it is ok, and this is all for the best, but I just want to curl up in a hole and pretend it isn’t happening.  Just let it all be over.  Let us be in our new apartment with everything in place right now.

I have to take it easy on me.  I tend to be too hard on myself when I don’t get as much done as I had intentioned.  Instead I will praise myself for getting the things done that I have.  I think things will be a lot smoother if I’m acknowledging my accomplishments rather than focusing on the things I didn’t get done.

It won’t be easy, but if I’m going to make it through this, I have to try.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. some people just hide in plain sight
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 17:41:12

    Moving is the best and moving is the worst! Good luck packing all that stuff. It’s that whole inventory. You get to see every last little thing you have and I know that can be so overwhelming.

    It sounds like your new place is going to be so great though. I’m glad for you. That’s really sweet about your daughter too.

    Reply

  2. insaneheart09
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 08:26:11

    It is crazy, for sure. Some of this crap I look at and think “Why the hell did I keep this?”

    Reply

  3. Spirit Raven
    May 15, 2011 @ 10:42:16

    I can relate to you…and also to the comment that you see every last thing that you own, and that can be overwhelming.

    We’ve moved five times in the last five years, and internationally. You do get to the point where there are certain things you don’t need often that you don’t want to keep setting up again or dealing with. Add the packing and unpacking associated with travel several times a year to that mix, and what you get it a whole different view on the instinct to desire more things and buy more things. You realize that working hard to earn the money for this thing and that thing only buys you more to deal with. We’ve come to the point that Christmas for us means decorating and entertaining, but no more stuff!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

