Feeling Sorry for Myself

Sometimes you put walls up not to keep people out, but to see who cares enough to break them down — Anonymous

I’ve heard this quote a lot, and I like it.  I feel so alone sometimes.  I have no real friends, my family is useless and my co-workers don’t give a damn.  I do it to myself though.  You can only keep yourself in your shell for so long before you start to feel lonely and unloved.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kate1975
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 13:14:23

    I’m guessing that you had very good reasons to put yourself on the shelf. It is inevitable that you will want more. I have found a lot of support online and though it is not the same as just hanging out, sitting and talking at a coffeehouse, it is great too. And great as a way of getting back in the swing and working on your interpersonal skills.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

    Reply

    • insaneheart09
      Jan 26, 2010 @ 15:56:08

      Thanks for your kind words. I think this is coming to a head a bit right now because I’m moving, everyone knows I’m moving and not a single person has offered to help. Not one family member, not one co-worker, no one. This is what happens when I can manage to put myself out there and try to make connections with people. It’s as if I get so far just to get smacked down so I retreat again.

      Reply

  2. kate1975
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 17:48:51

    I can understand how hard that feels. But moving help tends to be something only the rarest and best of friends do and a few family members that you can guilt into it. I hope that you will consider that and not use it as a gauge of how you are doing in your life right now. I hope that you can find help with moving or find some help you can afford to pay for. Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

    Reply

Leave a Reply

