Healing Through Music

I think music has some real healing properties.  There’s a lot of music out there that can really touch your soul.  It can bring things out of you that you didn’t know were there.  It can make you feel emotions that you wouldn’t be able to without it.

The movie Requiem for a Dream had this amazing song, and since then it has been overused, but I can still put it on repeat and listen to it for hours.  It is so hauntingly beautiful that I can lose myself in it.  I feel very peaceful.

I love all kinds of music, and I usually have to be in a certain kind of mood to listen to certain kinds of music.

There is one band out there that I can listen to all the time.  Three Days Grace is the epitome of perfection…for me.

The first song I heard from TDG was Animal I Have Become.

It was during some of my darkest days, and I really felt what Adam Gontier was singing.  I felt like I had a kindred spirit in someone who was going through hell too.

I’ve said before that I have a lot of darkness in me, and it means something when I can pick out a song from one band that describes what I’m feeling at any given moment.

When I’m thinking about my father…

When I’m feeling numb…

When I’m feeling overwhelmingly depressed…

When I just can’t take it anymore…

When I’m feeling like I’m healing…

I could probably post every song they have produced because I can relate to every single one on some level.  Sometimes it feels like they are in my head, picking me apart, and that’s awesome to me.  They make me feel less broken.

They’ve helped me tremendously in my healing process by simply making me feel like I’m not the only one whose been to hell and back, and lived to tell the tale.

Leave a Reply

