Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

I’ve always loved St.  Patrick’s Day.  It’s not because I’m a fan of corned beef and cabbage (in fact, I dislike it very much) or green beer.  It’s because I am 1/4 Irish, and I love the country.

I’ve never been to Ireland, but it is one of my dreams to live there one day.  Maybe retire there.  If nothing else, I just hope to visit at least once in my lifetime.

My daughter was very excited this morning.  She had on her St. Patrick’s Day shirt and a wobbly antenna headband that says “Kiss Me, I’m Irish”. 

I want to try to teach her more about the culture because it’s the most predominant in my blood.  I think it’s really important to learn about your heritage.

The Irish truly have an amazing story, and I’m proud to say that I’m a part of that.

I won’t be celebrating heavily tonight, but I may watch Gangs of New York.  It’s such a great movie about the rivalry between “Native” Americans and Irish immigrants in the 5 corners of New York in the 1800s.

If you go out and celebrate with your green beer, please be safe and have fun!

Leave a Reply

