The Alchemist

There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure.

Paul Coelho – The Alchemist

I just got done reading this book this weekend.  It’s a small book, less than 200 pages, so it was a quick read.  I normally don’t pick up books like this to read, but this one caught my eye.

With my anxiety lately, it has been very hard to concentrate on reading.  It’s a shame because I really love to read.

This book grabbed my attention right away, and I couldn’t put it down.  It is a story about breaking away from what feels safe and comfortable to you, and going on that journey to follow your dreams.  It talks about the setbacks and hard decisions that you face on your way, but also of the omens that show you are going in the right direction.

I found the book to mainly be about life’s journey.  It’s about what you learn along the way and how everything you go through helps you grow as a person in some degree.

It sounds cheesy, but it really made me think of my own life.  It wasn’t until recently that I really figured out what I want to do “when I grow up”.  I had been floating along through life, numb to most of it, and just surviving.

I want to become a therapist.  I want to help people get through difficult times.  I want to help people understand themselves and heal from emotional and physical trauma.

I am, however, terrified to make that leap.  I’m terrified to change my life as drastically as I would if I were to persue this.  I haven’t been able to pull the trigger on even doing some research on this type of career.

I have to think about finding a school, financing for said school, possibly (hopefully) quitting my job to go to said school full-time.  Then there is the time after I finish school where I have to get certifications, and then look for that job that I want to do with the degree that I have.

It’s a lot to think about, but this little book might just have given me the kick in the pants I need to move forward with this goal.  I am 30 years old, and not getting any younger.

It’s time to take control over my life and my future and stop being afraid.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. primewords
    May 05, 2010 @ 12:36:56

    I may have to check this book out. In fact, I should read this book. I have wanted to be a teacher, but was diagnosed three years ago with Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia. Knowing I have this cancer has kept me from doing a lot of things, from enjoying life and from feeling like I have a future. I’ve wasted three years worrying about it, but I’m still here.

    Reply

    • insaneheart09
      May 05, 2010 @ 13:23:49

      I’m sorry you are going through that. I can’t even imagine. I urge you to read this book. It’s an easy read, and if nothing else, you might be entertained for a few hours 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

