Fabulous Weekend

Ok, the pity party is over, at least for now.  I had the most wonderful weekend.  It was really what I needed.  I forced myself to just relax and not think about my issues for awhile.

Friday night, my husband and I talked well into the night, just about anything and everything.  We had a truly fantastic evening.  We only really get to spend time together every other weekend due to his work schedule, so we made the night special.

Saturday night was spent cooking and baking.  My husband is an amazing cook, and when he puts his mind to something, it comes out fantastic.  He has cooking in his blood, and it shows.  I love to bake, but I lack so much confidence in it because I was never “taught” how to do it.  I didn’t have a role model in that respect.  I took the plunge and made a Texas chocolate cake from scratch.  It was the first time in my life that I ever made a cake from scratch. 

My husband, daughter and I spent the evening until almost midnight preparing food and baking for company on Sunday.  For the past couple months, we have been getting together with another couple and their son every other Sunday.  We take turns hosting the other.  At first, I was a little leery of the situation because I wasn’t sure how I would cope with it.  The idea was new and foreign to me.  I forced myself to do it though, and it’s been great.  Now I look forward to it.  It’s amazing what can happen if you step outside your box.

Preparing for the gathering was fabulous family time.  At one moment, I stopped what I was doing and just took in the fact that we were all together and having a wonderful time.  It was very heartwarming to me.

On Sunday, we had the gathering, and it was a really important healing step for me.  I have so many trust issues, that it is incessantly hard to become friends with people.  I push them away before they get too close.  I understand that it is healthy to have friends in your life, and it is rather unhealthy to stay wrapped up in yourself.  I have really opened myself up to these friends, and we are getting closer all the time.  We share common interests and they are genuinely enjoyable to be around.  They are real, and I find that I don’t have to put on airs with them or pretend to like them.  It just comes naturally.  I don’t get uncomfortable anymore, and in fact, I look forward to our little gatherings.  It feels so good to be breaking bad patterns, and rewiring my brain.

The food was amazing and my cake was a bit hit.

All in all, the best weekend I’ve had in a long time.  It was the relief I needed.

Leave a Reply

