Dear Zachary…

I watched a documentary today that was more powerful than anything I’ve ever watched in my life.  It touched my soul and made me extremely emotional.  I went from sadness to elation to devastation all in one sitting.  I found myself crying multiple times during it.

The filmmaker is a man named Kurt Kuenne who set out on a journey to capture the memory of his friend Andrew Bagby after he was found murdered by his ex-girlfriend.  He traveled to England and all across the United States, interviewing everyone who knew and loved Andrew.  Along the way, he finds out that the woman who murdered Andrew is pregnant with his son.  The documentary then changed course to become a tool to someday show Zachary (Andrew’s son) who his father was.

Over the course of the documentary, there are so many stunning events that happen.  Things that happen to real life people, and are so shocking that you can’t even fathom what is happening.

You also meet and fall in love with two of the most incredible people I have ever known.

I don’t want to give away too much.  I watched this movie without any forehand knowledge of what was to come, and it was even more intense than it would have been had I known the story.

This movie can be found as a “Watch Instantly” on Netflix.  If you don’t have Netflix, I’m sure you can rent it.

I urge you to watch it, but be prepared for an emotional rollercoaster that will leave you shocked and exhausted by it’s end.

This movie will haunt me for a long time to come.

Leave a Reply

