There’s a Reason We Don’t Live in Anarchy

I had a random thought last night, and it made me very curious.  I’ve always been fascinated in the human condition and why humans do what they do.

We have laws for a reason.  A great many laws are necessary for the safety and well-being of all of us.  But I wonder… If we lived in a world where nothing was illegal, how many people do you think would do things they wouldn’t now because they are illegal?  How quickly would our world turn to chaos?

How many people would rob a bank if they could, afterwards, still live free and out in the public?

How many adult men would have sex with 12, 13, 14 year old girls if there wasn’t a fear of being labeled a pedophile and going to jail?

How many people would rape women if society didn’t think it was abhorrent?

How many people would kill someone just for the hell of it if there were no legal repercussions?

I wonder about strange things, but this really got me thinking.  I wonder how many people’s moral compasses are linked to legalities.  “I don’t want to go to jail.”  “Keep it legal.”  I see and hear these things all the time when I’m perusing the internet, and talking to people. 

I guess I just don’t understand using the law as your reason not to do something that is morally reprehensible.  I know that people’s values differ greatly depending on a number of things, but I have to question the character of a person who throws the legal card out there when it comes to crimes like the above mentioned.

Now, there are obviously some laws I don’t agree with.  I think marijuana should be legalized, for example.  But when it comes to thievery, violence and exploitation, these laws need to be in place.  It makes my brain hurt to think that there are a lot of people who would enjoy being deviant if there weren’t a law in place to stop them from doing it.

It’s sad, really.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. primewords
    May 14, 2010 @ 18:10:31

    Interesting thoughts. You should read Leviathan by Thomas Hobbes. Hobbes was a political philosopher who believed the natural state of man is violent. Hobbes felt governments were necessary because if man were left in a state of nature there would be constant war. Hobbes said whatever we posses others will desire, and therefore we must constantly be on guard. See the parallel?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

