Summer is Good for the Soul

This is a picture of an area not too far from where I live.  It is an absolutely beautiful place to spend the day in the summertime.

Yes, I am thinking about summer.  The past two days have been very summer like, weatherwise.  It’s been rather hot and humid, but it’s telling me that summer will be here very soon.  My daughter only has 9 days left of school.  It’s crazy to think about how quickly time flies.

I have lots of plans for the summer, and I know all too well how quickly the summer will go.  There’s a lot to fit in.  I already put in for some vacation days, so we will have some family time.  Hopefully, we will be able to get to the water park that is only a few hours away. 

I love this time of year.  My daughter is out of school, so my mornings are my own.  I don’t have to worry about getting her ready for school everyday.  It makes things much easier for me.  I love spending time outside, even if I am hyper-sensitive to the sun.  It just makes me feel happy.

My daughter’s summer has already been planned out to a certain extent.  She will have fun classes to go to for a couple weeks, and then there are swim lessons.  She will be going away to camp for a weekend as well.  She also wants to get involved in the local library’s reading program.

Although I will still be working my normal hours, I will be utilizing my evenings to take her swimming and go to the park.  I’m also planning a couple cemetary treks, which are a great way to spend an afternoon.  We will have lots of barbeques with friends as well.

Now that I am not drinking, I actually have the energy to plan lots of different activities.  Too many summers, I’ve been too exhausted and ill to do much of anything.  Every excursion seemed like more than my mind and body could handle. 

I’m super excited for the upcoming summer.  I’m definitely going to make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

