He’s Gone

He passed away Monday evening.  Liver and kidney failure.  Basically he drank himself to death at 43.  He was my father figure from the time I was 8 years old.  I loved him so much.

Saturday evening I went and sat with him for a few hours, and told him how much I love him. My daughter got to see him and tell him she loved him as well. He was always like a grandpa to her.  He thought the world of her.

I don’t think the effects of this have quite hit me yet. I miss him already, but it’s so surreal. I’m sure things will hit me at his funeral tomorrow.

The hardest part about this was my daughter’s reaction when I told her the news last night. She instantly starting bawling, and I held her for a long time. This is the first time someone close to her has passed, so it was a hard life lesson. It was definitely one of my most heartbreaking moments as a mother. The innocence and hope that she had is inspiring. I truly think she “just knew” that he was going to get better.

 
I wish that had been the case.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Comically Inept
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 14:29:54

    I’ve written and then deleted several comments, because anything I say sounds really trite, since I’m not you and not experiencing this right now. I have an inkling of what you’re going through and wish you the best.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

