Mindfulness Meditation

“Don’t just do something, sit there.”

-Author Unknown

Day 4 sober, and all is well.  I continue to read the Big Book, and it’s very helpful.  I am also reading this book again:

I didn’t get very far the last time I tried reading it because my anxiety was at an all time high, and I couldn’t focus.  I’m about 50 pages in this time around, and have been taking notes.

Meditation is something that I can do, and will do, once I have a better understanding of how to do it.  It’s really a complete change in how you perceive life and what you do with it.

Most of us go through life on auto-pilot.  Going through the motions and keeping busy are a natural part of Western culture.

Mindfulness requires you to stop and acknowledge that what is happening, actually is happening.  You have to embrace what “is”, at this moment, and every moment.

I’m no expert, but what I’ve taken from this book so far has been very enlightening.  It will take a lot of work and practice, but I think that I will find myself in a much better place once I start incorporating this into my life.

I’m hoping that eventually, I will be able to sleep using meditation.  Stillness and the act of “non-doing” are the foundation to meditating.  If I can do this, sleep should come easy.

Things are definitely looking up for me.  Not spending my evenings in an alcoholic haze opens the doors for me to work on a lot of things.  My health and recovery are dependent upon me being sober.

I will be just that.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Comically Inept
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 20:45:28

    Hi IH09: Great news on four days. Re: insomnia, in my experience these things tend to clear up during sobriety. That’s not to say that my problems vanished when I put down the bottle, but having a clear head helped me see what I could and couldn’t change in situations. Keep on truckin’. It does get better, but it also gets more and more interesting.

    Reply

    • insaneheart09
      Aug 10, 2010 @ 06:53:26

      I hope you’re right. I had another bad night last night, but I’m not letting it get to me. I can function on little sleep as long as I’m sober. I don’t feel like a failure.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

